Being Anglican

The Anglican Church of Canada is part of the worldwide Anglican Communion, with more than 80 million members around the world. The Archbishop of Canterbury, the Most Rev. Justin Welby, is the head of the world-wide Anglican Communion.In some countries, the Anglican Church is known as the Church of England or Episcopal Church.

The Anglican Church is divided into regional areas called “dioceses”.  Each diocese has its own bishop, who has responsibility for the spiritual well-being and administration of the churches within their area. In this region we are part of the Diocese of New Westminster.

The Diocese of New Westminster consists of 67 worshiping and serving communities in mission together across the southwest part of the province of British Columbia from the Sunshine Coast to the west to Hope located 150 kilometers east of the City of Vancouver. It was established in 1879. The ninth bishop of New Westminster is The Most Reverend Melissa Skelton.

Worship & Believing

Although our members come from many different races and cultures and speak many different languages, we are unified by our belief in the transforming love and power of Jesus Christ, the Son of God.  We believe that God offers unconditional love to everyone. In response to this love we place our trust and faith in God and strive to follow Christ’s teachings of compassion, justice, mercy, respect, and love towards others.

Five Marks of Mission

These five Marks of Mission are a framework used to describe and encourage ministry throughout the worldwide Anglican Communion:

  • To proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom
  • To teach, baptize and nurture new believers
  • To respond to human need by loving service
  • To seek to transform unjust structures of society, to challenge violence of every kind and to pursue peace and reconciliation
  • To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the life of the earth

For more information Please Visit: